EXCEL REFLECTIONS

In the unit excel I learned a lot of things that will help me not only with excel, but with other classes whether I’m using excel, or not, it will help me with just simply following instructions, and to not rush things just to take it slow an d perfect my work. One of the things that I have learned not only in excel but in a lot of other units in computers, is to format your work so that it looks nice, and is appropriately styled to what we are working with, this way it will be organized and not all over the place. It can also help with not making our work look really messy. We learned some definitions at the beginning of this unit which was good, because we learn what each thing is, before you start the unit and you don’t have to ask a bunch of questions, but one thing that we learned with that was how to use the snipping tool on our computers. That was really helpful because I use it a lot in business class for different projects and such. We were taught how to use many formulas, and IF statements which I thought were confusing at first, but now they make more sense to me. The IF statements, and formulas are really helpful in class, and if you are just using excel for something.

At first I wasn’t too excited to be doing excel because I didn’t really think that excel had a point, but I realized that it can be used daily in some jobs, and is very useful, and helpful. The formulas make your life so much easier because, if we didn’t have excel then we would have to figure everything out in our head and write it over, and over again, instead we use the auto fill button. I didn’t think that this unit would be to challenging because I already did some stuff on it in business, but we did a lot more things than I thought we would do, and they are all useful, that my business teacher didn’t teach me.

What was good about this experience was that I think that all of the students learned something, because I know that I learned a lot in this unit. What was kind of boring was when we were doing more basic things I already knew, because I either learned it in past grades, or in other classes. I understand what I have learned in this unit because Mr. Nishi went over everything step by step with the whole class, and didn’t just give us a word document saying what to do and let us go do it, he explained everything to us. That’s why I liked the guided practice, and then the independent practice.

I think that this whole unit went very smoothly, because we had reasonable amounts of time to get our work done, everything was pretty self-explanatory, after we did a guided practice on it. I really liked the way we did this unit by doing a guided practice, and then an independent practice because then we get the feel of what we are going to be doing. Then our teacher can make sure we know what we are doing before we do assignments. The one thing that didn’t go to well was the IF statements at first because they were a little confusing, but now they make so much more sense. The IF statements make everything a lot easier when using excel. The strategies I used to help me in this topic was to follow the instructions very carefully because you can easily skip one step and mess everything else up, and have to do your project all over again.

I think that this unit was a very productive unit because I learned a lot more than I expected to learn. What I could have done differently to make class more effective so that I could learn a lot more, was when I was done early I could maybe ask for something else to do to improve my learning even more. If I were to do this unit again then I would likely take more time to do my work to perfect it even more than I did, so that then I could get an even better grade than I got in this unit, this time. I will better prepare myself for other units in my classes by trying to study every night when I don’t have other homework, even if there is no test so I can better myself in the other classes, and get better grades. I need to develop better writing skills for my other classes because my printing I kind of messy, but my handwriting is nice, and work on the IF statements for computer class because I need to remember to put in the brackets. I think that this unit helped me to learn to follow instructions very carefully so that I don’t end up making a mistake.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment